The Nulb Crash Thread

Discussion in 'The Temple of Elemental Evil' started by Firesprung, Jan 15, 2007.

Remove all ads!
  1. krunch

    krunch moving on in life

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2005
    Messages:
    3,280
    Likes Received:
    0
    Are you saying that you never installed the Microsoft dotNET 2.0 Framework? If it had never been installed, that would cause problems.
     
  2. ben34

    ben34 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2008
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    0
    Crashes and Bug reports

    I keep having problems when I go to Nulb my game crashes? I have all the latest updates 5.0.5 or whatever, lets get down to busness, what am I doing wrong?
     
  3. ben34

    ben34 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2008
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have the exzact same problem my game used to load Nulb up fine now it crashes no matter what I do as soon as I attemp to travel to nulb!? my installation is clean I tryied starting over reloading my entire game clearing the map cashe, pyc files everything, and nothing will keep nulb from crashing to desktop eveytime!? No matter what I do, can this somehow be corrected? Obviously I will have to start a new game, but what can I do so I don't have to keep going over and over so I at least know, becaue this has been repeading over and over no matter what I do. I am running out of suggestions from this board and need some seriouse results that will work. thank you
     
  4. ben34

    ben34 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2008
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    0
    No way I have had the game running fine before even with 5.0.5 the whole nulb crash just started for no apparent reason really!>?W.H.Y. I have no idea, but it is really annoying and needs a real soulution for eveyone.
     
  5. Half Knight

    Half Knight Gibbering Mouther

    Joined:
    May 16, 2007
    Messages:
    2,148
    Likes Received:
    0
    Okay okay, we know it's annoying, but don't post the same over and over.
    You don't want to get Cujo annoyed by your repeating posts (he bites, y'now, you don't want to get Lycanthropy ;) )

    just wait t'ill someone of the big guys arrive (look at the bottom of the main screen forum, there you'll see who it's connected, so look there from time to time)



    While you wait, try this:

    try to get the Temple marked on your map before going to Nulb (i can't remember, but someone will mark it; if not console this give 11006 which it's Alira's map). Go from where you are now to the Temple directly. Then go to Nulb FROM the Temple.

    I dunno what's the problem, but you wouldn't waste anything by trying this :shrug:
     
  6. ben34

    ben34 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2008
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    0
    Nice! I think that will work, and I apollogise for the previouse double I was actually refering to a question about whether or not I had the proper framework installed. I have actually had this game running fully upgraded to 5.0.5 on both my computers. They also ran all the way to the end of the game, save the fire\scather problem and some earth and fire node lag\freeze issues but I was always able to work through them. Now its like I need a map locale other than my own so thank you!!!! I will try this and it sounds like I may even have a chance to save my progress!!!
     
  7. ben34

    ben34 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2008
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    0
    I had a question about the console give 11006, does that only work if you have nulb on your map already? because I went ahead and started a brand new game and cannot give 11006 to work on my current map?
     
  8. Half Knight

    Half Knight Gibbering Mouther

    Joined:
    May 16, 2007
    Messages:
    2,148
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hum, no... it should work without problems...are you reading it? :scratchhe
    I mean, yopu have to drag it to the icon under the inventory, the one thath says "use item" and has a hand with the palm facing up and a green prism.

    Or instead of give 11006 you can console create 11006, be aware that if you use this, the item will appear in the ground instead of your inventory, so move one step and you'll see it lying there
    And remember to leave a space between give and 11006
     
  9. ben34

    ben34 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2008
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    0
    I didn't see the map in my inventory but I will try again. but yeah if its there I do know how to use the "use tab" in the lower portion of my inventory, absoulutely. So far no dice but i will let you know if nulb ever opens up for me, thank you.
     
  10. ben34

    ben34 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2008
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    0
    The map did show my bad I just wasn't looking for a inventory item but I still need nulb it dosn't give me a clean nulb location on my map!? im afraid the crash may still occure do you think this is because I console my item in because I use excalibur!?
     
  11. ben34

    ben34 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2008
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yep nulb crashes bad still, I think mabey I need to go throught he temple untill I can get otis the 2nd time after finding one of the factions and mabey nulb will not crash then? other than that I don't know what to do?
     
  12. Gaear

    Gaear Bastard Maestro Administrator

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2004
    Messages:
    11,005
    Likes Received:
    27
    The Nulb crash is most likely caused by either a botched installation or by a corrupt save resulting from a botched installation. You should uninstall the Co8 mod via Add or Remove Programs in Control Panel, then re-install and patch properly according to Zebedee's comprehensive installtion instructions found in the Downloads forum.

    Start a new game. The saved games that are crashing for you are almost certainly screwed, so there's no point trying to get them to work again.
     
  13. ben34

    ben34 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2008
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    0
    do you think I have corrupted mod packs as well I downloaded them from this website??
     
  14. Gaear

    Gaear Bastard Maestro Administrator

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2004
    Messages:
    11,005
    Likes Received:
    27
    I have no reason to think that, no. Plenty of other people have downloaded them from here and used them without problems.
     
  15. ben34

    ben34 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2008
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have too, the mods used to work fine untill reinstalled them as of recently as a matter of fact the same version 5.0.5 is still working fine on my other computer. Well I was able as of recently to get to nulb by unistalling the CO8 with 5.0.5 and just installing CO8 with no other patches. But as soon as I installed 5.0.5 i lost my save games so when reach nulb I will be able to tell if the crash will still occur so far I have unistalled the game like this several times and the crash remains a constant so this will the last time and i will not use the 5.0.5 patch for CO8 if it happens again.
     
Our Host!