Some misc gameplay questions...

Discussion in 'The Temple of Elemental Evil' started by wanderon, Dec 7, 2005.

Remove all ads!
  1. Kalshane

    Kalshane Local Rules Geek

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2004
    Messages:
    1,651
    Likes Received:
    4
    As soon as you get the little encumberance indicator in your character's picture, your movement is reduced. For humans, elves and the like, it goes from 30 to 20. For halflings and gnomes it goes from 20 to 15. Dwarves never have their movement reduced by encumberance.

    Medium and heavy armor likewise reduce movement.

    The only place encumberance is going to hurt you is when you're more encumbered than the armor you're wearing. If you're heavily encumbered and wearing medium armor or lighter armor, your Dexterity bonus (if any) to AC is going to be reduced to +1, the same as wearing fullplate. If you're already wearing heavy armor, you won't notice a change because your Dexterity bonus and movement have already been reduced. Likewise, if you're wearing light or no armor and become medium encumbered, your movement will drop and your max Dex bonus to AC will be reduced to +3, same as wearing a breastplate.
     
  2. wanderon

    wanderon Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2005
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    0
    I haven't found any lockpicks yet other than the ones he came equipped with (or seen any for sale in Hommlett) my rogue has 18 dex and 16 int so he has a 10 on DD and 11 on OL at the moment (rogue3/fighter1) and he had to have cats grace for a chest in the moathouse and can't open the smithy quest chest even with cats grace ATM...
     
  3. wanderon

    wanderon Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2005
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    0
    Wow that makes the barbarian fast movement a bit more beneficial doesn't it and makes any of those "useless" items like boots and gloves and such that do nothing even sillier to use. I can't for the life of me figure out why pieces of armor like steel boots, or chainmail gloves have no effect other than to weight you down...
     
  4. maalri

    maalri Immortal

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    1,128
    Likes Received:
    1
    @wanderon-- As far as the Moathouse- Yes I believe that if you do not complete the quest- even by a "glitch" that you don't get any experience. May want to rerun from before Lareth-

    As far as the rogue- Guidance 0 lvl spell by druid or cleric helps by +1 too. You do have to choose on the Radial menu what you want the Guidance to go to though before your action. I use a Rogue with a 17 dex (becuase of elf) and a 14 Int, the occasional Cats Grace and Guidance spells (they stack).
     
  5. wanderon

    wanderon Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2005
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ahhhh the old good news bad news post huh?

    Good news on how to help my rogue bad news on losing moathouse exp- just how much exp do you think I lost there? I went back and checked my saves and I have been overwriting my "last" one like a quicksave (since I read someplace to not use the quicksave in this game) and the last save I have in the moathouse is way back when we hit level 4 after the gnoll battle...
     
  6. Zebedee

    Zebedee Veteran Member Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2005
    Messages:
    1,755
    Likes Received:
    0
    Moathouse quest is listed as CR4.

    Go to the mod forum, download my fix. Throw the Terjon dlg file into the right place. Go and speak him and the xp is yours as long as you have dealt with Lareth.
     
  7. wanderon

    wanderon Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2005
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    0

    Done and done...worked fine - added 336exp each BTW...thnx!! :dance:
     
  8. wanderon

    wanderon Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2005
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well we explored Nulb a bit then set off to do some fishing. This led to another level immediately after the frog king altho it took several uses of the "powerword:reload" spell before the party could go on to clear the area without losing any members (I thought it would be tacky to cut and run back to Nulb and take our new levels before finishing the area so we just finished it before taking any new levels). This difficulty in clearing the rest may have had something to do with the seahag who for some odd reason had an AC of 28 WHILE PRONE...must have been some powerful magic going on there...:paranoid:

    Everyone is doing pretty well except my cleric tends to miss about 80% of the time with his Glaive in spite of the +3 str and weapon focus or at least it seems that way...still trying to decide if the enlage person spell on my fighter/barb really makes him more effective or if it just looks cool (greatsword) and I could use a nuker. I have the temple on my map now so I am going to go see if Burne is intersted in joining yet.

    Any comments on Burnes usefulness to the party vs the exp drain and loss of all scrolls? Does he take all the healing scrolls too or just the arcane ones?
     
  9. wanderon

    wanderon Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2005
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    0
    Heres another question - I do not have the front end installed but noticed the max hit point folder in my ToEE folder when I was doing the Terjon dlg fix- can I install the max hps now and will it effect this current game and exactly how do I go about installing it?

    I just reloaded my bard 6 times in a row as she is only gaining a single hp each time...
     
  10. Kalshane

    Kalshane Local Rules Geek

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2004
    Messages:
    1,651
    Likes Received:
    4
    Instead of re-loading your game, hit shift+~ to open the console. Type in game.party[x].stat_base_set (stat_hp_max, y) Replace X with the number of the party member in question -1 (so your party leader is 0, 2nd person is 1, etc) and y with the hitpoints you want the character to have, not counting any bonuses for constitution. (So if your Bard is 3rd level with a Con bonus of +1 and you want her to have 18hp, type in 15 in the place of y.)
     
  11. wanderon

    wanderon Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2005
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    0
    I never use console commands or editors to "adjust" my games - I'm sure many folks don;t see any difference between using an editor or console and setting a game to max hps or reloading but I have never done so and I'm not really interested in starting now.

    I generally won't use a third party mod to do max hps either but since this game is essentially unplayable without 3rd party mods I figured I might make an exception and consider it a "feature" of the "restructured" game - especially since it appears I already have the "fix" in my game folder from d/l Co8 V4. ;)

    Is it not possible to use it without the "front end"??
     
  12. Cujo

    Cujo Mad Hatter Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2005
    Messages:
    3,634
    Likes Received:
    1
    hey out of interest - my cleric is the same except +4 strength, and only hits about 40% (or less) of the time with the glaive.
     
  13. wanderon

    wanderon Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2005
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    0
    Maybe if we had chosen the Luck domain we would get better rolls huh? :icon_chuc
     
  14. maalri

    maalri Immortal

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    1,128
    Likes Received:
    1
    wanderon, as far as console commands go-- I view them only as a Fix to an incomplete or buggy game- I have only used the exp modifying one, and then only on two characters for what I thought was legitimate reasons. It is not a cheat unless you make it a cheat. you can use them to give yourself EVERYTHING, or you can use them sparingly and only for good reasons. Like, if the game is being too chinsy on HPs, roll them yourself with your trusty real life dice and use the console to insert them in the game :) (remember -take the FIRST roll :))
     
  15. Kalshane

    Kalshane Local Rules Geek

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2004
    Messages:
    1,651
    Likes Received:
    4
    You're right. I don't see difference between reloading the game over and over again until you get the result you want, or inputing the result yourself. In the end, the character is exactly the same. One is just a whole lot faster than the the other.

    I use the console to give my characters average hps if the game rolls crap for them. That's it. My first time through the game, my Rogue got a 1 on just about every HP roll. It sucked. I decided I didn't want to deal with that anymore.
     
Our Host!