Post patch 2.0 and mod pack 3.0 bugs

Discussion in 'The Temple of Elemental Evil' started by Crichton, Jun 5, 2004.

Remove all ads!
  1. zhuge

    zhuge Established Member Veteran

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2003
    Messages:
    484
    Likes Received:
    0
    A quick fix or two and some findings...

    Bug:
    -Cure Light Wounds, Mass: hyperlink broken in the die window

    To tackle this, we'll have to open up spell_enum.mes and scroll down...

    change:
    {20221}{}//spell_healing_circle

    to:
    {20221}{TAG_SPELLS_CURE_LIGHT_WOUNDS_MASS}//spell_healing_circle

    It turns out that the help section for Cure Light Wounds, Mass does not have Conjuration properly tagged either, so we'll remedy this by opening up help.tab

    Find:
    Cure Light Wounds, Mass ~Conjuration~[TAG_MAGIC_SCHOOLS] (Healing)

    and replace with:
    Cure Light Wounds, Mass ~Conjuration~[TAG_MAGIC_SCHOOLS_CONJURATION] (Healing)

    Take extra care when editing help.tab as it appears easily corrupted.
    I've rechecked and obtained the desired results after fixes.



    Also managed to get the +4 to Natural armor bonus for Righteous Might by inserting a line of code from Barkskin python file:

    target_item.obj.condition_add_with_args( 'sp-Barkskin', spell.id, spell.duration, 4)

    However when the Righteous Might spell expires, it interprets Barkskin also as Righteous Might, cancels the size increase twice and you end up with a character avatar 1 size smaller than he originally was. Bummer. Maybe someone can work something out here.



    I would like to have a second look at permanent spells. However I've had lots of difficulty trying to reproduce them. Crichton and Huntsman, could you mail me (zhugetx@yahoo.com) the relevant saved files (zipped) and details on how to reproduce these bugs.
     
  2. miserychick

    miserychick Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    I still dont get the Blue Elven Chain for rescuing the Elves. I did get the 100 plat, and the Unicorn ring (What does that do, anyway?) but no armor.
     
  3. zhuge

    zhuge Established Member Veteran

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2003
    Messages:
    484
    Likes Received:
    0
    Generally I have no problems with adding items by crafting but I do appreciate modders checking the 3.5e SRD first to see whether it should be available before level 10.

    Firstly, this helps to keep the game more balanced

    Secondly, since Steve Moret will be selecting items and new content for the upcoming 3rd official patch, anything which is properly coded and follow 3.5e rules strictly has a good chance of being taken.

    I do know Ioun stones and some of the earlier items may not adhere strictly to this, but I'd very much prefer to keep the changes as a tribute to the skill of our earlier modders.
    On the other hand, if Masterwork armor and other arms are no longer crafted under "Forge Arms & Armor" then it should be again renamed "Craft Rod" to avoid confusion.


    @miserychick:
    Oops, I wrongly coded Blue Elven Chain as 6215 in InvenSource.mes, it's supposed to be 6125. Sorry. Perhaps
    Huntsman could repair this for the mod pack update.
    Those who have the actual PnP module will be better able to answer questions regarding the Unicorn Ring. I think someone mentioned that it used to be able to make Unicorns friendly, but since there are no Unicorns in the game...
     
  4. Huntsman

    Huntsman Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2004
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm tracking all the changes on this thread, and those elsewhere that I can find. I'll try and code them all in this weekend, and offer a new version for testing. Expect it Monday, at the latest.

    I'll try and get a save game file for you, zhuge. I believe it's still on the system. Looking at the line you entered in for Righteous Might gives me some ideas on what the problem could be with stoneskin in this instance. I'll look into it, but don't plan on making a change there just yet until someone can reproduce the issue. Basically, Falrinth's stoneskin, when it was taken down due to damage, took minor globe of invulnerability with it but left the effects of minor globe. I'll try and repeat it, with new characters and a fresh set of data files.
     
  5. Crichton

    Crichton Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Zhuge-

    I've tried reproducing my 'magic circle against evil' perma spell bug, but it didn't work, I thoughtlessly saved over the game, but here's the approximate order of events-

    1. entered into combat with "ruined tower" bandits.
    2. My cleric casts magic circle.... on himself.
    3. Eventually fight ends (he was never knocked unconcious or enfeebled, but he might have been bane'd)
    4. Used enterance to the temple
    5. used enterance to farlinth's lair
    6. wanting to refresh my magic before farlinth, I rested eight hours, but an ettin interrupted me, after killing it and noticing that while the tab was gone, the blue dot circle wasn't, I reloaded.

    To reproduce it, I tried getting in a random fight outside the temple, casing magic circle.... during the fight, entering the temple, and then resting to get in another fight, but so far, it hasn't worked.

    but it did lead me to another bug,

    if you rest in the "ruined tower", sometimes you get into a random encounter with bugbear champtions (the fighter-thieves who tumble in banded mail), but they're non-hostile. However, if you rest again, and more stuff spawns, when it attacks you, the bugbears become hostile both to it and to you (those bugbears really do a job on temple guards).
     
  6. Huntsman

    Huntsman Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2004
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    Patch 3.0.3 beta has been posted at http://briefcase.yahoo.com/tbrister@sbcglobal.net. I marked it as beta because I only tested far enough to insure that the game will still load up and run. I'll try and test more tommorrow, but if anyone wants to download it and test it out (I'm leaving 3.0.2 posted for download as well, so you can revert) it'd be a huge help. There's a changelog file that will go in the ToEE directory that lists the minor changes made, and also if anyone finds new bugs let me know.

    zhuge:

    I was having trouble with ProtoEd myself...I don't think it's file specific, for me it was corrupting InvenSource.mes. I edited it with notepad and it was fine. I think ProtoEd has trouble with certain constructions or file sizes...not sure.

    Note:Edited to fix URL
     
    Last edited: Jun 12, 2004
  7. ShadowDragon8685

    ShadowDragon8685 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2004
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    I found a bug for you already. I don't know why - and this is probabebly not somthing you can do anything about, but when I was making characters and making my party, I decided to change my party selection by removing the last character I'd put into the party and making another one. I press 'create,' and CTD. I guess this one's on Troika's heads, though. :)
     
  8. ordinaryjones

    ordinaryjones Established Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2004
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    1
    about monsters turning hostile to each other, I was fighting hedrack, and had charmed monster a bugbear, iuz showed up, and left leaving a bunch of zombies. the zombies were all hostile to hedrack and the bugbear. i have played the same battle without casting charm monster and this didnt happen.
     
  9. zhuge

    zhuge Established Member Veteran

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2003
    Messages:
    484
    Likes Received:
    0
    Since I don't spot any particular standout bug which I can fix, I'm probably going to back to actual AI and dialogue mods until the Atari board members get a list of things to fix.
    As you know, I've been interested in tweaking the AI for a while and this bug has been reported before so I'll start with this one.

    To start off:
    {14424}{Wizard} is a Wizard 5 whose strategy entry (Col333) in protos.tab is Wizard 5th level

    {14425}{Witch} is a Cleric 6 whose strategy entry (Col333) in protos.tab is Cleric 5th level

    That's fine so far. Looked at the Bull Str entry in strategy.tab and saw:

    clear target
    target friend high AC
    cast single Bull Strength
    target closest

    That target closest might be the problem. Perhaps it should be target friend or something like that. I'll need time to test things out though so don't expect any instant results.

    EDIT: On looking at strategy.tab in more detail, it appears Bull Strength is tied to "target friend high AC" and not "target closest" which is actually for another spell lower down the list. Will need to dig a little deeper.


    Not sure on how to work on "wandering around indecisively". Might be related to how "closest paths" are calculated and that probably is engine related.

    Yes, the wizard does know Fireball and I can make him cast it sooner. Question is how soon is sooner to make this fight tougher. The current sequence appears to be:

    Mirror Image
    Enlarge
    Enlarge
    Ray of Enfeeblement
    Slow
    Hold Person
    Daze
    Fireball

    Since any sane player would know better to take out enemy spellcasters ASAP, it's not surprising that few have actually seen the wizard cast Fireball.


    Ordinaryjones also just reported the same problem. And in the past, so has Greyhawk, kellinjar and a bunch of other Atari and Co8 board members. However, they've all reported this in different combats so I'm not really sure which file I need to work on here. It could be some reputation file though I doubt if this is really the cause. It could also be something related to combat initiation and is hardcoded in which case I can do nothing about it.
     
    Last edited: Jun 12, 2004
  10. ShadowDragon8685

    ShadowDragon8685 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2004
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    It's really amazing what the fan community has done so far with a game that was completely inhospitable to modding.....

    The only problem is that Atari seems to have their control and tightfist dial set to "Nazi," which sucks. If Troika used all their Arcanum tools for ToEE (which it appears that they did,) then modding it should - theoretically - be a snap. Except for the maps themselves, which appear to be matte-paintings with a movement overlay layer for where people can move, and where they can't. Hell, we could fix Atari's mammoth oversights - most importently, the level 10 cap. The REASON I bought the ToEE game was for the possiblity of electronically watching a sorcerer go from level 1 "run and hide" mode to level 20 "walk in and devestate the place."

    And imagine my horror when I found my hopes and dreams dashed half-way to the mark. ARRRRRGH! I HATE ATARI!



    *cough.* Anyway, nevermind. I was just wondering if it would, theoretically, be possible to fix the game to allow for level 20 if you guys could get ahold of the Troika source tools.
     
  11. ShadowDragon8685

    ShadowDragon8685 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2004
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    Found a new bug, don't know if it's reproducable yet.


    I was in the ToEE's second level - the one with the earth, air and fire temples, and the werewolves and the tricky mirror.

    So I go in prepared to lay the smack down, and the smackdown is layed. The stupid werewolves kept attacking my naked (by RP choice) rouge - the on with +13 dex mod, and a bunch... in short, they were shooting Vs. AC 32 or somthing, factoring in the Circle Against Evil my cleric threw up. Anyway, the smack-down is layed, bare-handed and in true showpony WWE style, except my monkette - she was hitting for real - and I kill one werewolf, take the other to 14 hitpoints.

    I then proceed to use Suggestion to attach her to my party (Female shapechanger, hehe,) and I think the good will be had...

    Imagine my surprise when I'm still stuck in battle mode - some of the Cone of Colds my wizard was throwing must have hit whatever 'object' that the 'shimering mirror' had, and it was listed in combat. And so it did nothing, could not be killed, but I could not get OUT of combat. We all ran away, my party and our new (heavily magically drugged) werewolf companion.

    Still no good. We're as far away as we can go, and we're still in battle. I pull out the scroll of teleport, and go to Homlett. Unfortunately, everyone is freaking out because I've got a werewolf tagging along, and I didn't feel like killing her. Just out of curiosity, I try waiting an hour (it was nearly sunup,) intending to see if she will revert to a human form... And crash to desktop as soon as I click "okay" on the wait.


    Ai carumba my friend. :(
     
  12. sir_toejam

    sir_toejam Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2004
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    *cough.* Anyway, nevermind. I was just wondering if it would, theoretically, be possible to fix the game to allow for level 20 if you guys could get ahold of the Troika source tools.<<<

    it might be possible, but even if u could raise the level cap, there would be little benefit to your spellcaster as there simply aren't higher level spells (other than chain lightning and maybe one or two others that may or may not work) built into this game. this game was designed to explore just this part of the module, and not go beyond, so level 10 it is. if u want to simply be able to cast more instances of spells you already know, write some scrolls or make a wand (or both) :)
     
  13. ShadowDragon8685

    ShadowDragon8685 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2004
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    I do that, but it's just not the same. I want my Monk to be able to walk up to Zuggtmoy and punch 'is card, or my wizard to be throwing around Meteor Swarm. (Then, I suppose that would be like the 2nd circle Ball of Fire spell that got cut due to engine limitations... :( )
     
  14. sir_toejam

    sir_toejam Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2004
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    there was someone who posted over at atari that said that modding spells was easy and fun, but failed to post intructions to do so. i suppose if someone were to post how to do that easily, then it wouldn't be too hard to "create" higher level spells (provided you didn't mind if they had the same animations as some other spell)
     
  15. silvannus

    silvannus Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2004
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Engine problem:

    When I use the key for Quickload it loads de Autosave game, instead of the Quicksave. It started happen after I begun several different games and afterwars deleted most of the savegames.
     
Our Host!