Icewind Dale: ToEE - Total Conversion

Discussion in 'Icewind Dale Total Conversion' started by Allyx, May 7, 2016.

Remove all ads!
  1. Shiningted

    Shiningted I changed this damn title, finally! Administrator

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2004
    Messages:
    12,740
    Likes Received:
    374
    Al, I'm having a shocker with these Shamans (Shamen?) I can't get WorldEd working (something to do with Windows, I expect, since it affects all installs of ToEE not just IWD) so I had a look in WorldBuilder and they seem to be proto 14751, with no script overrides that I can see.
    One (G_94C0CF3C_...) wouldn't load, so I used the other one (G_7...).

    That proto without overrides must be drawing from protos.tab, which has no Bull's Strength or other buff spells for 14751, just healing spells. Have I stuffed up my install somehow? All I did was install patch 7 add-on over a working game, and the Shaman previously cast bless etc and generally worked (I ran into plenty of them when I accidently put them in the RE file).

    I'm also not seeing any counting variables for spells in the heartbeat file (582) just HB stuff.
     
  2. Sitra Achara

    Sitra Achara Senior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2003
    Messages:
    3,622
    Likes Received:
    538
    This is the shaman's code:
    Code:
    game.global_vars[726] = game.global_vars[726] + 1
    if (game.global_vars[726] == 1):
            attachee.cast_spell(spell_shield_of_faith, attachee)
            attachee.spells_pending_to_memorized()
        if (game.global_vars[726] == 1):
            attachee.cast_spell(spell_divine_favor, attachee)
            attachee.spells_pending_to_memorized()
        if (game.global_vars[726] == 1):
            attachee.cast_spell(spell_bulls_strength, attachee)
            attachee.spells_pending_to_memorized()
            game.global_vars[726] = 0
    
    It's definitely broken - it always checks against the value 1, which will reset it back to 0 in the third if clause. (I can see where the error came from - Lareth has similar looking code, but there the if's pertained to different party alignments so they should all go at once).

    Should be more like

    Code:
    game.global_vars[726] = game.global_vars[726] + 1
    if (game.global_vars[726] == 1):
            attachee.cast_spell(spell_shield_of_faith, attachee)
            attachee.spells_pending_to_memorized()
        if (game.global_vars[726] == 5):
            attachee.cast_spell(spell_divine_favor, attachee)
            attachee.spells_pending_to_memorized()
        if (game.global_vars[726] == 10):
            attachee.cast_spell(spell_bulls_strength, attachee)
            attachee.spells_pending_to_memorized()
        if (game.global_vars[726] >= 200):
            game.global_vars[726] = 0
    
     
  3. Shiningted

    Shiningted I changed this damn title, finally! Administrator

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2004
    Messages:
    12,740
    Likes Received:
    374
    But what script file is that from?

    EDIT: Never mind, never mind... I must have interrupted the install of the patch, a reinstall fixed everything <sigh>

    2nd EDIT: I'm seeing the same problem with protos.tab Al, Bull's Strength is there but Divine Favour and Shielf of Faith don't seem to be among his spells.
     
    Last edited: Jan 2, 2017
  4. Gaear

    Gaear Bastard Maestro Administrator

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2004
    Messages:
    11,038
    Likes Received:
    42
    There's definitely more than one heartbeat between spell casts. If anyone ever wants to see that in action, I had a simple beap sound in the Co8 modpack that you could attach to each heartbeat to get an audible indicator in-game of when an NPC's heartbeats occur. IIRC, they occur increasingly more frequently the closer the player gets to an NPC.

    Al, I had pretty reliable working pre-buff scripts attached to the many HB casters, if you ever just want to poach those.
     
  5. Allyx

    Allyx Master Crafter Global Moderator Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2004
    Messages:
    5,009
    Likes Received:
    254
    Thanks all, I thought each heartbeat would bump the vars up one, so that explains why the second spell wouldn't fire. RE: divine favour I was gonna drop that spell entirely,

    I was also having issues with them casting Enlarge Person on themselves as a strength domain spell, during regular combat AI, but couldn't get that to fire either, any suggestions?
     
  6. Shiningted

    Shiningted I changed this damn title, finally! Administrator

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2004
    Messages:
    12,740
    Likes Received:
    374
    Yup, I'll confirm that R is C.

    Enlarge Person is definitely one that I couldn't get going in KotB as a pre-buff so I just put the spell condition on. I did get it going as a during combat spell though, it should work.

    Are you putting them in both the spells part of the proto and then the strategy.tab?
     
  7. Allyx

    Allyx Master Crafter Global Moderator Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2004
    Messages:
    5,009
    Likes Received:
    254
    Yes, they are in both Strategy.tab and Protos.tab, I currently have everything working except bulls strength (either prebuff or in combat) and the second shaman isn't casting any prebuff spells.

    I may need to make a duplicate proto and change the script hooks in the now proto rather than just editing the mob script hooks.

    I also replaced both of the Orc Shaman with new ones that do load in World Builder, this didn't help getting the rebuffing working.

    EDIT: Found the error, spelling mistake - apparently Bulls Strenth isn't a viable spell name. :oops: The second shaman still isn't prebuffing though, I'll make him a new proto and see if that helps.

    Edit 2: Adding a second Shaman proto worked :D and it is a challenging fight. PLus there is now also scope to alter the second Shaman's AI a bit to take into account the fewer available allies to him in that battle.
     
    Last edited: Jan 2, 2017
  8. Shiningted

    Shiningted I changed this damn title, finally! Administrator

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2004
    Messages:
    12,740
    Likes Received:
    374
    Nicely done :)
     
  9. Allyx

    Allyx Master Crafter Global Moderator Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2004
    Messages:
    5,009
    Likes Received:
    254
    @Shiningted any chance you could take a look at the Obscuring Mist particles? They appear to only occupy a 10' diameter instead of 20'.

    Patch 8 is available here now, I've added Jermsy's quest, got the Shaman AI working correctly, made the Inn Pass Time Only when a room has not been paid for, also made paying for a room when one has already been paid for unavailable as a dialogue option, added a lot of waypoints for the Orc's in the Orc cave to mix things up a bit.
     
    Last edited: Jan 2, 2017
  10. FDR4PREZ

    FDR4PREZ Established Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2007
    Messages:
    520
    Likes Received:
    80
    @Allyx what resting trouble in the Inn were you having?

    It seemed to be working well for me for a while now.

    When I purchased a room if I rested for more than 24 hours, then I could not rest again.

    If I rested for less than 24 hours, then I could rest again, up to 3 times if each resting period was 8 hours long.

    Is that what you changed, so you can't rest repeatedly in a 24 hour period? Well, I will download and play with it to see if I can see a difference in the Inn.
     
  11. Allyx

    Allyx Master Crafter Global Moderator Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2004
    Messages:
    5,009
    Likes Received:
    254
    No, the rest icon was red when a room had not been paid for - which also prevents crafting items as the red areas are 'unsafe', so I changed it to 'pass time only' like the other areas of Easthaven you can't rest in.
     
  12. FDR4PREZ

    FDR4PREZ Established Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2007
    Messages:
    520
    Likes Received:
    80
    Ah, OK, well that is something that I've not tested before.

    You may have seen a post from me in a different thread that I've never crafted anything before.

    PS: I am glad to hear that the pre-buff issue was a scripting issue and not the bug. It sounds like these battles will be much tougher now.
     
  13. Allyx

    Allyx Master Crafter Global Moderator Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2004
    Messages:
    5,009
    Likes Received:
    254
    Well, I've packaged up everything I've done so far, and I'm uploading now (it's actually smaller than the original starter pack as I've trimmed out some Co8 ToEE files as well), it's uploading now ahead of an official public beta testing phase. This should also give me a little time to work out the maplimits thing and the localised sounds - which are the only 2 things that still need to be finished off.
     
    Last edited: Jan 2, 2017
  14. FDR4PREZ

    FDR4PREZ Established Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2007
    Messages:
    520
    Likes Received:
    80
    @Allyx - In the original IWD, there are many locations, in many maps, that when you hover over specific locations the cursor changes to a question mark and if you click there then there will be a pop-up text with a description of whatever you are hovering over.

    Is this possible in ToEE?

    These things are all over the place in IWD, and in Chapter 3 (Dragon's Eye level 4), there is a carpet that automatically pops up some text that helps gives away a clue about the "pacifists" in that level.

    When you click with a question mark cursor:
    upload_2017-1-2_12-47-42.png


    These popups with the question marks are just fluff to add more details (ambiance) into the game.

    They are quite literally everywhere in the game.
     
  15. Allyx

    Allyx Master Crafter Global Moderator Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2004
    Messages:
    5,009
    Likes Received:
    254
    I'm not sure if added them will be possible, we tried using the tutorial popups in the Co8 modpack to add a similar type of effect, but those caused the Jerk stop issue.
     
Our Host!