Game Not Responding

Discussion in 'The Temple of Elemental Evil' started by sonofliberty, Sep 20, 2022.

Remove all ads!
  1. sonofliberty

    sonofliberty Established Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2012
    Messages:
    522
    Likes Received:
    2
    I downloaded the latest version of co8 mod and temple plus, now the game just locks up when I try to play. It gets stuck on the "new game" page and my mouse/touch pad both have no effect. When I use ctrl/alt/del to check it shows that the game is not responding. Thinking that my game had gotten bugged, I downloaded a clean copy from GOG and reinstalled co8 only; same issue. This is the same laptop I have used for years and it still plays nwn2 and many games with no issues. i am stuck, thoughts? suggestions?
     
  2. Sitra Achara

    Sitra Achara Senior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2003
    Messages:
    3,592
    Likes Received:
    515
    1. Just to verify, when running with Temple+, were you using the Temple+ launcher or the Co8 frontend?
    2. Did you install the game in Program Files? You shouldn't.
    3. Can you post the Temple+ log file from when that happens? It's in
    C:\Users\<USERNAME>\Saved Games\TemplePlus
     
    Buffed Rabbit likes this.
  3. sonofliberty

    sonofliberty Established Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2012
    Messages:
    522
    Likes Received:
    2
    Hey Sitra. This was a fresh install after having the same issue with the older copy so I had not installed temple+ yet. Just the latest version of co8. I installed this copy to c/gog games/temple of elemental evil. I was trying to install in parts so as to learn where the issue would arise. I learned long ago to never install games to program files. When I originally tried on the old copy(since deleted before downloading the new copy from gog) I loaded from the temple+ front end.
     
  4. Sitra Achara

    Sitra Achara Senior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2003
    Messages:
    3,592
    Likes Received:
    515
    Ok. Anyway as I mentioned if you post the logfile it may shed some light, until then there's not much I can do.
     
  5. sonofliberty

    sonofliberty Established Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2012
    Messages:
    522
    Likes Received:
    2
    I cannot seem to upload the file. There is no "log file". There are 3 "dmp" files; 1 "config file"; and 1 "text" file. Trying to use the upload a file button will not allow me to upload any of them.
     
  6. sonofliberty

    sonofliberty Established Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2012
    Messages:
    522
    Likes Received:
    2
    Now I feel stupid. It was locking up due to me having the intro movie disabled. Once I enabled the intro, it seems fine
     
    Last edited: Sep 20, 2022
  7. sonofliberty

    sonofliberty Established Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2012
    Messages:
    522
    Likes Received:
    2
    @Sitra Achara Hmm... So, continuing with the installation Temple+ crashed. There is still no .log file even though the game said it created one. Windows 8.1 if it matters. There is a file with the right time stamp for the crash, but it is a .txt file which the site will not allow me to upload
     
  8. Sitra Achara

    Sitra Achara Senior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2003
    Messages:
    3,592
    Likes Received:
    515
    You should be able to upload it as a zip file.
     
  9. sonofliberty

    sonofliberty Established Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2012
    Messages:
    522
    Likes Received:
    2
    Ok. Here you go.
     

    Attached Files:

  10. Sitra Achara

    Sitra Achara Senior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2003
    Messages:
    3,592
    Likes Received:
    515
    Thanks. From the log I see the crash occurs when you hit "Begin Adventuring", is that correct?

    Can you send me the files for your newly generated PCs?
    They should be under:
    \modules\ToEE\players
    As before, put them in a zip. (you can put all of them in to make your life easier)
     
  11. sonofliberty

    sonofliberty Established Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2012
    Messages:
    522
    Likes Received:
    2
    OK, here it is. The characters to be used were created between 5 and 6 pm
     

    Attached Files:

  12. Sitra Achara

    Sitra Achara Senior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2003
    Messages:
    3,592
    Likes Received:
    515
    Thanks, that reproduces the crash. Looking into it now.
     
    sonofliberty likes this.
  13. Sitra Achara

    Sitra Achara Senior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2003
    Messages:
    3,592
    Likes Received:
    515
    Ok it's unrelated to the specific PCs. The way I was able to reproduce this was:

    Go to party pool
    Pick 6 characters
    Go back to the previous screen (party alignment selection), select an alignment
    Again pick 6 characters
    Hit begin adventuring

    However if I just normally start a game without going back like that it doesn't crash. Can you confirm?
     
  14. Sitra Achara

    Sitra Achara Senior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2003
    Messages:
    3,592
    Likes Received:
    515
    Ok wow, you found another vanilla crash bug...

    I can reproduce this behavior on vanilla ToEE by repeating the above twice, even when selecting only 5 characters as per the original limit.

    The problem is that the game doesn't remove them from the "party" (as in game.party) when clicking that "back" button to change party alignment. Once the party is over 10 members long, it starts overwriting internal data with junk and crashing ensues...

    Well done!
     
  15. sonofliberty

    sonofliberty Established Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2012
    Messages:
    522
    Likes Received:
    2
    Confirmed. I had realized that my initial alignment choices restricted deity choices of certain classes and races. I wanted to change party alignment for that reason. Thanks. Seems to work fine atm.
     
    Sitra Achara likes this.
Our Host!