Fun with Iuz

Discussion in 'The Temple of Elemental Evil' started by Sacto J, Oct 5, 2010.

Remove all ads!
  1. Sacto J

Sacto J Member

I started playing again recently and I'm all the way down to the 4th level when I stumble across Hendrak(sp?) the temple commander. I definately remember his from the last time I played, and charge on in.

As you may know, after I beat him up a bit and he summons Iuz. I was feeling pretty good about my party, but it was slaughtered within 2 rds by Iuz.

I've been able to kill Hendrak before he summons, but I wanted to know from other players what you've done when Iuz shows up. Is there a way to beat him, or is that totally impossible? He's got almost 800 hps and SR 35 (fun!).

Thanks,

Sacto J

2. Ranth

Ranth Established Member

You can defeat him with the swords from prince Thrommel (killing him or saving him). I have heard of people buffing up their fighter with stoneskin and other buffs, tripping Iuz, and beating him down. Apparently he cannot reply to St. Cuthbert if he is tripped, so he does not leave, and you can kill him.

There are probably YouTube videos showing how to do this.

3. mmonagle

mmonagle Established Member

The responses here will be interesting. I'm sure there will be those who craft and have a party of uber-weapons that barely sweat this battle.

I do not craft so I save this battle until the end so that my party has achieved as high a level as it can for this battle. I then buff my group very heavily. Below is a pic where you can see my party is ready to go in. I have cast: Hero's Feast, Stoneskin, Mass Bear's Endurance, Displacement, Haste, Greater Heroism, and Mass Bull's Strength. My priest has also cast Righteous Might. I find that the most important spells are stoneskin and displacement.