Cormyr - new module development [video]

Discussion in 'General Modification' started by anatoliy, Mar 10, 2020.

Remove all ads!
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Sitra Achara

    Sitra Achara Senior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2003
    Messages:
    2,831
    Likes Received:
    128
    I have to say that I always envisioned revamping ToEE's inventory by adding a scrollbar to the inventory, and perhaps expand on the 'bag' system (of which there are traces in the dll). But I never got around to doing that, and this is pretty cool too. So kudos!
     
    anatoliy likes this.
  2. anatoliy

    anatoliy Established Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2017
    Messages:
    207
    Likes Received:
    69
    Thank you @Sitra Achara ! Your appraise is very important to me :)

    I agree with your thoughts about scrollbar in inventory and the bag system. Adding the features would be nice. Although it is rather bigger development, and I think what is even more important - more testing.

    What is pity - that there is no condition event for weight calculation. Lifting Belt from A Dark and Stormy Knight (Anyone wearing it gains a +1 enhancement bonus to Strength for the purpose of determining his carrying capacity. 500 gp) would be quite nice to have.
     
  3. Allyx

    Allyx Master Crafter Global Moderator Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2004
    Messages:
    4,824
    Likes Received:
    183
    You could fudge it, give it a negative weight value to allow you to carry that value of extra weight. I believe that is how Bags of Holding work in Kingmaker anyway. Either that or add +2 strength and -1 penalties to melee attack rolls and strength based damage rolls (including composite bows, slings and thrown weapons) to compensate (preferably using the luck bonus type so there are no stacking conflicts) - this actually makes the belt better than it should be for calculating weight carried, but otherwise works as intended.
     
  4. anatoliy

    anatoliy Established Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2017
    Messages:
    207
    Likes Received:
    69
    Thanks for suggestion @Allyx. But this is somewhat cheesy workaround.

    I'd say improve T+ with new python query. What would you say @Sitra Achara ?
     
  5. Sitra Achara

    Sitra Achara Senior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2003
    Messages:
    2,831
    Likes Received:
    128
    You could patch the strength query inside the functions that have to do with encumbrance ( EncumbranceQuery, EncumbranceDisp). Hook the calls to a custom function that does statLevelGet + new query.

    Edit: Also TotalWeightOutputBtnTooltip so the display matches up.
     
    Last edited: Jul 3, 2020
    _doug_ and anatoliy like this.
  6. Sitra Achara

    Sitra Achara Senior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2003
    Messages:
    2,831
    Likes Received:
    128
    Hmmm btw, as I recall @Rudy implemented the handy haversack with a negative weight... simple but effective :)
     
  7. anatoliy

    anatoliy Established Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2017
    Messages:
    207
    Likes Received:
    69
    I'd rather go with Encumbrance engine update :)
     
    _doug_ likes this.
  8. Allyx

    Allyx Master Crafter Global Moderator Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2004
    Messages:
    4,824
    Likes Received:
    183
    So I did a thing, just to test - it's far from perfect, but for a learning Perspectives 3 project it seems to have worked pretty well.
    ADASK3.jpg
    The statue is the wrong type ( I forgot it was meant to be an open and upright sarcophagus until I tested it out in game) and the other sarcophagus is way larger than it should be ( I guessed the dimensions incorrectly, but generally I call that a success. I was tempted to make the back walls for each of the rooms approximate the height they should be in the cross section diagram but settled for low walls for this quick test. obviously the clipping files and sectors would need adjusting to match any new map, but I tried it out in game and it doesn't look too bad. :D
     
    anatoliy likes this.
  9. anatoliy

    anatoliy Established Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2017
    Messages:
    207
    Likes Received:
    69
    @Allyx I agree that this render would look better in the isometric game such as ToEE :)

    Most certain usage for this tool I see is maps creation for Return to Temple of Elemental Evil. As it has only black and white maps provided.

    Much of my Cormyr endeavor is to gain experience and comrades for RtToEE :)

    BTW, it looks great :)
     
  10. Shiningted

    Shiningted I want my goat back Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2004
    Messages:
    12,066
    Likes Received:
    108
    Very nice, Al. That map looks familiar, where is it from?
     
  11. Allyx

    Allyx Master Crafter Global Moderator Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2004
    Messages:
    4,824
    Likes Received:
    183
    I just recombined @anatoliy's A Dark And Stormy Knight map in WB, changed the dimensions to 9216x6050 pixels in MS Paint (the Perspectives 3 pack for Campaign Cartographer 3+ doesn't allow you to set your own isometric angle), Imported the image into Campaign Cartographer 3+, changed the grid points per inch up by a factor of 10, added the flooring, walls and other bits and bobs, exported the image as a JPG, set the dimensions back to 9216x7424 pixels in MS Paint, split the map up again in WB, and tried it out in ToEE.
     
    anatoliy likes this.
  12. anatoliy

    anatoliy Established Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2017
    Messages:
    207
    Likes Received:
    69
    For me, @Allyx, it is very important to hold up with strict scale of dungeon maps. So 5 feet square should be 5 feet square in the ToEE. I saw that you have removed the square grid, so how it can be done then?
     
  13. Endarire

    Endarire Ronald Rynnwrathi

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2004
    Messages:
    542
    Likes Received:
    44
    @anatoliy
    What happens if you put a Bag of Holding in itself? In another Bag of Holding?
     
  14. Allyx

    Allyx Master Crafter Global Moderator Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2004
    Messages:
    4,824
    Likes Received:
    183
    To add a visible grid to the map after adding in graphical details? I haven't figured out if Perspectives 3 has that option yet, though I assume you can add custom skins in Perspectives 3, but making a custom skin that just adds a grid should be easy enough in Photoshop or Gimp.

    You can open your original map in Photoshop, add an alpha channel, select by colour the tones in between the grid and delete them leaving only the grid on an otherwise blank alpha channel, if you copy what's left and paste it enough times you can make an image that is only the 5' grid, then add that channel on top of your map before exporting the new gridded map image.
     
  15. Shiningted

    Shiningted I want my goat back Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2004
    Messages:
    12,066
    Likes Received:
    108
    ToEE quite famously doesn't observe the 5' grid in the traditional PnP sense (ie diagonals being 2-1-2-1 etc) because the engine lets you move in any direction the appropriate 5, or 10, or how ever many feet. So I don't think the grid is necessary. But the way Anatoliy has left it in looks fine too imho.
     
    Allyx likes this.
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Our Host!