AI Strategy Type

Discussion in 'General Modification' started by Enilno, Feb 9, 2006.

Remove all ads!
  1. Enilno

Enilno Quicksword

Being a noob, I apologize if this is a really stupid question or has been answered over and over again. I have searched and searched and since 'AI' is a non-searchable term (too short), my results have been limited.

Here is a thread where Livonya talks about making lots of script changes to the AI, but doesn't go into detail about where or how the scripts are stored:

http://www.co8.org/forum/showthread.php?t=1313&highlight=witch

I also didn't see anything the TOEEWB tutuorials that explained AI Strategy Type settings (or referred me to another source), but maybe I missed something.

Where are the AI scripts stored? Are these Python scripts? Are there files for each of the AI options currently in use in protos.tab ('AI Strategy Type')?

I want to create a new encounter, and am in the very early stages of trying to mod one. However, the opponents that I have created so far act really stupid and present almost no challenge (they use missile weapons in melee provoking multiple AoO's from my characters, even through they have melee weapons that would be the more deadly option to begin with). This was their behavior whether I had assigned no AI Strategy Type or whether I picked one for them (I tried 'Defender' for most of the and 'Flanker (with ranged)' for one that actually was more likely to be effective that way). These AI Strategy Types were assigned to some in the large group of fighters (or rogues -- whatever they are) outside of Romag's room. Maybe I just picked the wrong types, but how do I know which are best, and why is the default behavior so stupid. You'd think that the default would be to use melee in melee or if you're going to use ranged to at least take a five foot step first. I'm sure if I pick the right AI (or create a custom one), then new opponents can be made to be much more challenging.

Thanks.

2. Allyx