Worst starting line up?

Discussion in 'The Temple of Elemental Evil' started by Legless, Nov 18, 2012.

Remove all ads!
  1. Legless

Legless Established Member

HI, I just restarted ToEE with a new party, one I've never used before. It comprises 1 Sorceress, 1 Druidess?, 1 Bard, and my front men 1 Barbarian and 1 Ranger. They all have great stats for their classes, but having just managed to beat the bandits outside , with 2 chars ko, I rested up and attempted the bandit room on the entrance level. My Barbarian was killed outright with one blow from a normal bandit as the opening attack, then my Sorceress hit a bandit for 2 points with magic missile, the next bandit knocked out my Bard, My Druid cast charm sucessfully and the Bandit Leader then Killed my Ranger with one blow. The bandit bowman missed. In attempted to move my Druidess was slain and my Sorceress was ko'ed.
    I lasted till the second round.
    Anyone else get the feeling that the co8 ver 7.5 nc is way more difficult for new parties than the original ToEE. Don't get me wrong here, I think the C08 crew have done wonders to the game, but I can't help feeling that is a lot harder. My normal crew are 2 fighters, a wizard, a cleric and a rogue. They made to the Balor battle and managed to do 93 points of damage before dying. My half orc for example has 108 life points and got hit for 29 on the way into the attack, he did 58 damage and on Balors go was killed. My Dwarf lasted 2 rounds in close combat. The wizard only used magic missile with partial success (1 in 5 missisles actually hit him) but no other offensive spells worked. The rogue hit him consistantly with bow and arrow for ZERO damage and my cleric used her Smite but did no damage. I'm going to try a different combo next, but haven't decided what yet. It seems the only way to kill Balor is with Paladins, but I like chaotic neutral characters so I'm not sure how to build a party for that battle. I would appreciate any pointers you could give me.