What it takes to be a Co8 modder.

Discussion in 'The Temple of Elemental Evil' started by Thirteen, Aug 31, 2016.

Remove all ads!
  1. Thirteen

Thirteen Member

This is probably a dumb question, but I'm curious as hell. Are you guys in the IT field as a career or is all this stuff just a hobby for you? Did you have any training to do everything you do or are you self taught? I wish I knew how to do some of this programming stuff...any ideas where to learn?

2. Allyx

Allyx Master Crafter Global Moderator Supporter

Speaking on a personal level, no. I've had no programming training, I work as a night time shelf stacker full time in a supermarket.

I may not have been the first or best modder at Co8, but I'd certainly like to think of myself as one of the most influential and successful. Many of my ideas have become staple Co8 mod material that has defined our products over the years.

3. sirchet

sirchet Force for Goodness Moderator Supporter

Here here, I second Allyx and join the many in sincere gratitude for his contributions.

4. Thirteen

Thirteen Member

That's interesting to know...I wonder if modding is even a little different from writing an actual program. Probably not. I used to do stuff in BASIC many years ago and learned some HTML since then. Some of you might not be old enough to know what BASIC is though :p

5. Allyx

Most of the mods made are simple affairs, if you are interested in learning, check out the various modding tutorials on these boards.

Last edited: Aug 31, 2016
  6. WinstonShnozwick

WinstonShnozwick Established Member

What would I do to view existing weapon models in the game, and create a new one, as well create a new weapon data entirely to be added to the game?

7. WinstonShnozwick

Excellent, because I need to do something nearly identical, add a mind blade to the game.

8. Allyx

I reused the katana model already existing in vanilla toee and made it smaller in the protos.tab entry.