Rogue feat fix hack

Discussion in 'General Modification' started by Spellslinger, Jul 29, 2006.

Remove all ads!
  1. Spellslinger

    Spellslinger Established Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2006
    Messages:
    158
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok everybody, this one should bring rogue feat taking during levelup to RAW. I hope :). I've decided to use the abundant free space after the relocation table section of the file to code in my fixes. I have NO idea if this is "by-the-rules", but the patched dll works fine here.
    BUT, I really need some feedback on this dll. I doesn't make sense to continue on if this approach to solve my space problems doesn't work for other people. So please, test this one abundantly and give me some feedback. When testing, pay close attention if you can only take the special ability feats on lvl 10, 13, 16 and 19.
    Ted will post the file as soon as possible, I think...

    PS: I hope you can get it up again, Ted ;)
     
  2. Zebedee

    Zebedee Veteran Member Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2005
    Messages:
    1,755
    Likes Received:
    0
    :thumbsup:

    Thank you Spellslinger. This is just brilliant to hear.
     
  3. Lord_Spike

    Lord_Spike Senior Member Veteran

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2005
    Messages:
    3,151
    Likes Received:
    1
    Lemme give the Legion another try...

    :poke:
     
  4. Shiningted

    Shiningted I want my goat back Administrator

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2004
    Messages:
    12,654
    Likes Received:
    352
    Last edited by a moderator: Jul 30, 2006
  5. Allyx

    Allyx Master Crafter Global Moderator Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2004
    Messages:
    5,001
    Likes Received:
    250
    Hey, that's cool. Perhaps you could code the useless Monk feats next? Moebius2778 added some feats that do nothing, I was talking to Morpheus on IRC a few months back, there are abilties in game that could be used quite effectively...

    Feat name Suggested function

    Abundant Step feat name added. (Doesn’t do anything) (Co8 v3.0.4) - demension door 1 per day CL is half the monks class level (rounded down)

    Quivering Palm feat name added. (Doesn’t do anything) (Co8 v3.0.4) - a new spell may need to be scripted for this one to work.

    Empty Body feat name added. (Doesn’t do anything) (Co8 v3.0.4) - Etherealness 1 round per level, a new spell may need to be scripted for this one as well.

    Perfect Self feat name added. (Doesn’t do anything) (Co8 v3.0.4) - change creature type to outsider.
     
  6. bigron

    bigron Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2005
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sorry to ask but I just wanted to double check on exactly how to implement the dll fixes
     
  7. Cerulean the Blue

    Cerulean the Blue Blue Meanie Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2005
    Messages:
    1,962
    Likes Received:
    0
    Bigron, just replace the temple.dll in whatever module you are testing with with the temple.dll from the fixes. If you are testing with a Front End module, the temple.dll to replace will be in modules\<mod name>.
     
  8. Jesse Heinig

    Jesse Heinig Established Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2005
    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    0
    My recommendations:

    - For "Empty Body," since there's no Etherealness in the game, perhaps it can make the monk incorporeal for up to 1 round/level?
    - For "Perfect Self," remember that in addition to gaining an outsider skin (and immunities as appropriate), the monk also gains DR 10/magic.

     
  9. Zebedee

    Zebedee Veteran Member Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2005
    Messages:
    1,755
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok. Had time to have a play with a rogue :)

    Super work spellslinger - the level 13, 16 and 19 fixes look spot on :)

    The only problem I could find was with the level 12, 15 and 18 fixes.

    The rogue abilities crippling strike, defensive roll, slippery mind, improved evasion and opportunist should not be available at those level ups. Skill mastery is correctly implemented for those level-ups, if that helps in any way at all :)
     
  10. Spellslinger

    Spellslinger Established Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2006
    Messages:
    158
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for the feedback, Zeeedee. Strange that I missed that one, but then...
    *minirant on*
    This code is wacky as hell. Lots of strangeness arises because of this hybrid between C and Python... Most of the time I have no idea how to access any game data at all. Want to know a certain PCs level? Well, then you got to somehow get these 2 strange ObjIds (none of them is the actual address in memory... no, that would be too easy) through some lookup loops, then know the field number you need to access to get the level. And then know which of the gazillion different object access functions is the right one to call with these parameters... Agh. And the feat levelup selection. There is not one central and updated list of feats you can take maintained during levelup. Every part (from displaying the names in bold and colours to drag and drop to RMB click) loop through the whole feat list and determine anew if they should interact with this one. And they call the eval functions with different presets in registers and parameters. And that led my little prereq function capture astray. :sadblinky
    *minirant off*

    Well, I've tried a new way to deal with it and I managed to levelup a rogue from 1 to 20 with everything working fine. Still, my function interjection might have unforeseen consequences down to the road, so testing would be good. Just use the dll every time you play, you don't have to explicitly test the rogue. The hooked function is global to feat requirements checks.

    As to the Skill Mastery... it seems that you get it for free at lvl 10, at least that happened to me during my testing. Why? No idea, feat flags and requirements are the same as the other special abilities of the rogue. For the moment I'll just let it slide, it's not that important.

    I'll send the dll to Ted again, so you can get it as soon as he gets it up... kind of a running gag, or what?
     
  11. Zebedee

    Zebedee Veteran Member Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2005
    Messages:
    1,755
    Likes Received:
    0
    This is why we appreciate anyone who can play with the dll so much Spellslinger. There aren't many who can take it apart and try and fix it. I've no idea how hard it must be even with the skill to do it. Just thanks for making such a mighty attempt at it - and actually succeeding - your hack allows people to choose their rogue feat at levelups now. Even if it has effects not totally kosher with the rules, it's still a huge improvement, as if you know the rules, at least now you can play by them :)

    I've been playing every game with your AoO and the last rogue fix available. Not noticed any unusual side effects as of yet, although I have to confess I haven't yet managed to level a party above level 5 due to stopping/starting/reinstalls :)
     
  12. Shiningted

    Shiningted I want my goat back Administrator

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2004
    Messages:
    12,654
    Likes Received:
    352
    I guess thats why it is a dynamic link library... I tried tracing the Stack Pointer, there's a kwik path to insanity :p

    Got the dll, posting imminent. Where's my Viagra?

    [Edit] There it goes! Get it here:

    http://files.co8.org/mods/dllfix4.rar
     
    Last edited: Aug 4, 2006
  13. Enilno

    Enilno Quicksword

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    0
    Guys, I'm playing Co8 5.0.0 with the latest cumulative fixes (03-AUG-2006). I don't believe this fix is included there. (Plans to add it later?)

    I'm playing with four characters and hit level 12 yesterday. I noticed that the Rogue abilities were available for the normal feat selection at level 12 as Zebedee has described. IIRC, I've seen this before many months ago in Co8 4.0.0 with a level 12 Rogue. My point is that I don't think Spellslinger's fix is causing this problem. Unless, I'm confused/mistaken, this problem has existed for a long time.
     
  14. Zebedee

    Zebedee Veteran Member Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2005
    Messages:
    1,755
    Likes Received:
    0
    Enilno - I think you're confused ;) The problem exists and Spellslinger is trying to fix it. v3 of his fix was definitely half-way there. When you level up your rogue to level 13 in Co8v5, you cannot choose a feat but with v3 of spellslinger's fix you can. I've yet to try v4 of Spellslinger's fix (hoping to get some time this weekend).

    Hope that helps explain a bit what is happening :)
     
  15. rufnredde

    rufnredde Established Member Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2006
    Messages:
    266
    Likes Received:
    1
    The .dll hack is still in testing, if you care to test it its right here just download and install it. From the little feedback I have seen so far it works great, so when 5.0.1 actually comes out and isn't just a cumulative fix anymore I'm sure it will be included.
     
Our Host!