Multi class character can't copy scrolls

Discussion in 'The Temple of Elemental Evil' started by Oleg Ben Loleg, May 22, 2015.

Remove all ads!
  1. Oleg Ben Loleg

    Oleg Ben Loleg Established Member Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    256
    Likes Received:
    10
    Hi I have tried to make an interesting multi class character: level 9 thief, lvl 4 fighter, lvl 1 wizard. I have added one level of wizard to be able to copy scrolls like fireball. I know there should be a very big chance of failure for a lvl 1 wizard to learn a lvl 3 spell. I have tried around forty times to copy various spells now: None ever worked. It only says copy scroll failed (I did not try to copy same spell again and again) or invalid action. I have no text in the box that would tell me anything why I failed, like my Intelligence is to low (14 only). Any Ideas?
     
  2. sonofliberty

    sonofliberty Established Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2012
    Messages:
    510
    Likes Received:
    0
    Multiclass wizards can copy scrolls. I just tested by choosing wizard for my fighter character as a test and then had him copy on of my wizards extra scrolls(fireball). Are you wearing armor when you try? What is your spell craft skill level?
     
  3. Beryl

    Beryl Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2014
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    IIRC you can only copy and learn spells of a level inferior or equal to you Int bonus. Fireball is a 3rd level spell and would need minimum of 16 INT for +3. Moreover, if you failed to copy a scroll, you can not learn it before gaining one more level (or in ToEE try with another scroll and redo the first just after)
     
  4. sonofliberty

    sonofliberty Established Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2012
    Messages:
    510
    Likes Received:
    0
    I don't think so. You need intelligence equal to 10+spell level. ie int 11 for a 1st lvl spell, 12 for 2nd, 13 for 3rd etc...
     
  5. marc1967

    marc1967 Established Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2014
    Messages:
    555
    Likes Received:
    27
    First, I don't think multi-classing has anything to do with it. You're a first level wizard regardless of the other classes. Also, Let us know what your characters Intelligence and Spellcraft rank is, as those will dictate your success.

    The first time you attempt to copy the scroll, there will be a Spellcraft check, and you can examine the roll (see picture below). If you fail and try again, there will not be another roll, and you will get an Invalid Action floater over and over again. This is because you can't attempt to do the Spellcraft check on that scroll again until you increase your Spellcraft rank. It is often mistakengly assumed that you can try again when you gain a level, but you actually need to add a rank to Spellcraft.

    Scroll Copy.jpg

    Here is the relevant part of the rules:

    "A wizard can also add a spell to her book whenever she encounters one on a magic scroll or in another wizard’s spellbook. No matter what the spell’s source, the wizard must first decipher the magical writing (see Arcane Magical Writings, above). Next, she must spend a day studying the spell. At the end of the day, she must make a Spellcraft check (DC 15 + spell’s level). If the check succeeds, the wizard understands the spell and can copy it into her spellbook. The process leaves a spellbook that was copied from unharmed, but a spell successfully copied from a magic scroll disappears from the parchment.

    If the check fails, the wizard cannot understand or copy the spell. She cannot attempt to learn or copy that spell again until she gains another rank in Spellcraft. A spell that was being copied from a scroll does not vanish from the scroll."
     
    Last edited: May 22, 2015
  6. XVicious

    XVicious Established Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2013
    Messages:
    426
    Likes Received:
    5
    yes, agree with above comment.

    Copy scroll for wizard is based on a spell craft check

    15 + (spell level) = DC

    FireBall level 3

    15 + 3 = spell craft DC 18



    spell craft check
     
  7. marc1967

    marc1967 Established Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2014
    Messages:
    555
    Likes Received:
    27
    I think I know what your issue is.

    You most likely didn't spend any points at all in Spellcraft when you leveled up. If your base Spellcraft rank is 0 (regardless of how high your intelligence is, or even what level you are) you will get the "Spellcraft: Failure" floater over and over again, and no roll will even be made.

    I had this same issue with Survival check a while back. My Survival skill total was very high because of high wisdom and other buffs, but I was still never getting a Survival option for traveling encounters. It was because I hadn't put at least one point into my initial rank.
     
  8. Oleg Ben Loleg

    Oleg Ben Loleg Established Member Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    256
    Likes Received:
    10
    Exactly. I just cheked: only 2 spellcraft. But it's only a bonus I never invested a point in that skill. So I don't get any kind of text in the text box that woulg normaly tell me why I failed. I never worried abot that spellcraft feature because in the description it only refers to identify spells beeing cast.
    I think my intelligence is also a little bit low with 14 but I could rise that with fox cunning.
    Thanks for all the feedback
     
    Last edited: May 22, 2015
  9. sirchet

    sirchet Force for Goodness Moderator Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2003
    Messages:
    3,721
    Likes Received:
    48
    Also, a skill with no points allocated is considered "untrained" until points are invested in it.
     
  10. General Ghoul

    General Ghoul Established Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2008
    Messages:
    953
    Likes Received:
    6
    Yes, have a cleric cast Fox's Cunning on the wizard, then have someone cast Guidence on you, and have a Bard sing the Competence song, added up for a +4 bonus.
     
  11. Oleg Ben Loleg

    Oleg Ben Loleg Established Member Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    256
    Likes Received:
    10
    Thanks, will try that. Once again the often underrated Bard turns out to be quit useful.
     
  12. Shiningted

    Shiningted I want my goat back Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2004
    Messages:
    12,258
    Likes Received:
    197
    Is the Scholar's Kit in ToEE? If so, +2 to Spellcraft, pretty much for these exact moments.
     
  13. Oleg Ben Loleg

    Oleg Ben Loleg Established Member Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    256
    Likes Received:
    10
    Right. Never neded that until now. Excellent suggestion, thx.
     
  14. Dreamteam

    Dreamteam Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2014
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    Scholar kits stack (go figure...), and I believe there are 4 of them fairly easy to get at start:
    One can be bought in the startup store when you create your party, Spugnoir has one, one can be bought at R+G trading post in Homlett iirc, and I think Pischella or someone else in Rufus's tower has one. Sorry it's been awhile, but there are definitely 4 available.
     
  15. marc1967

    marc1967 Established Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2014
    Messages:
    555
    Likes Received:
    27
    I think it's an unintentional abuse that they stack. The same goes for Healer's Kit (for Heal skill), Merchant's Scale (for Appraise skill) and others, where you could theoretically stack 10 or more of them put the relevant ability through the roof.

    I'd like to recommend that these are required to be worn either at the lockpick slot or the bardic item slot before they take effect. This can done easily by settting the OIF_WEAR flag OIF_WEAR_LOCKPICKS or OIF_WEAR_BARDIC_ITEM.
     
Our Host!