extraplanar chest

Discussion in 'The Temple of Elemental Evil' started by Rickenbacker, Nov 2, 2009.

Remove all ads!
  1. Rickenbacker

    Rickenbacker Established Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2006
    Messages:
    113
    Likes Received:
    0
    I was a bit confused about how to use it. I still see it in my inventory, but can't cast the spell for it. Guess it's gone for good (unless I randomly find it again)?
     
  2. The Royal Canadian

    The Royal Canadian Established Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2005
    Messages:
    741
    Likes Received:
    2
    Hi Rickenbacker
    TO use the Extraplanar Chest, you first must get it Identified, either by having a Wizard (or Sorcerer) in your party cast "Identify" on it, or by having a merchant in Hommlet Identify it while you are trading/bartering with them. Once the chest has been Identified, you select it from the radial menu of the character who has the miniature in their inventory (it should show up next to "Inventory" in the radial menu. Keep in mind that a Extraplanar Chest miniature can only be used so many times before it disappears for good, so use it wisely.
    The Royal Canadian
     
  3. oudeis

    oudeis Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2007
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    1
    Are you sure of this? I was under the impression that it was permanent, a free 'bag of holding' from the devs.
     
  4. Ausdoerrt

    Ausdoerrt Veteran Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2008
    Messages:
    1,233
    Likes Received:
    0
    I thought it was permanent too. Never had it run out on me, anyway.

    The key is that you have to turn the chest back into the miniature after you use it (by executing the same command from the inventory screen (or was it the radial menu? try both). From what it sound like, your problem is that you forgot to do it. Unfortunately, the recall spell fizzles unless you're close to (in the same area as?) the chest. The only solution to get the stuff back is to try to remember where you left it. If it was one of the temporary maps, you're out of luck.
     
  5. Rickenbacker

    Rickenbacker Established Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2006
    Messages:
    113
    Likes Received:
    0
    Damn. I might just have to go back to an old save, cause I don't think I remember at all where I used it.
     
  6. Thorsson

    Thorsson Established Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Messages:
    121
    Likes Received:
    4
    I learnt the spell...
     
  7. taltamir

    taltamir Established Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2004
    Messages:
    741
    Likes Received:
    1
    i kept on trying to use it (drag it to the use icon) and it gave me an error that indicated you cannot use it YET (but would later)... when I found it in the radial menu i went palm + face.
     
  8. GuardianAngel82

    GuardianAngel82 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2007
    Messages:
    3,481
    Likes Received:
    5
    That means you can make a new one, but NOT for free.
     
  9. Thorsson

    Thorsson Established Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Messages:
    121
    Likes Received:
    4
    And money is a problem?
     
  10. GuardianAngel82

    GuardianAngel82 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2007
    Messages:
    3,481
    Likes Received:
    5
    Not for me, but I cheat.
     
  11. Ausdoerrt

    Ausdoerrt Veteran Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2008
    Messages:
    1,233
    Likes Received:
    0
    Money has never been a problem in TOEE, at least until 5.6.0 (haven't tried it yet)
     
  12. maalri

    maalri Immortal

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    1,128
    Likes Received:
    1
    @the RC

    I've never had it "run out" on me either... Modders, can we get a definite on this thing to see if it has a limited number of uses??
     
  13. Gaear

    Gaear Bastard Maestro Administrator

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2004
    Messages:
    11,023
    Likes Received:
    33
    There seems to be no limit to the EC's charges.
     
  14. The Royal Canadian

    The Royal Canadian Established Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2005
    Messages:
    741
    Likes Received:
    2
    Hi Gaear
    Then I must have a weird install or something, because I don't know how many times over the years I would load up an EC, send it to the EP, and when I went to use it at Brother Smith's it would just fizzle without bringing the chest back. Before you ask, at no time did I put crafted items in the chest. Yes I would put magic weapons and armor (items that hadn't been identified, but I was sure I was going to sell, like Kelno's +1 Chainmail) but nothing that any of my crafters had done any crafting on. I will try it again when I reactivate 5.6

    The Royal Canadian
     
  15. Sitra Achara

    Sitra Achara Senior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2003
    Messages:
    3,367
    Likes Received:
    362
    That's odd. Never happened to me, unless I forgot the EC in a random encounter or something.
     
Our Host!