Character selection for dialogs

Discussion in 'General Modification' started by Ludget, Jun 23, 2020.

Remove all ads!
  1. Ludget

    Ludget Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2015
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    1
    I'm quite annoyed by the way ToEE handles the dialogs. I have the party diplomat in the first place of the party roaster, but that does me no good because the game always selects the character nearest to the npc for the dialog, instead of the first one as in all the other D&D games I know.
    I managed to partly solve the problem for dialogs that are initiated by the party by simply adding a line "triggerer = game.leader" to san_dialog. This way it's still the pc nearest to the npc who walks to the npc but at least the dialog options are for the leader.
    But sadly this doesn't work for dialogs that are triggered by the npc. Seems the triggers don't use the san_dialog script of the npc.
    Is there a way to alter the triggers without going too deep into map editing?
    Or as an alternative, how would I go about adding a line "I don't speak for the party..." and then restart the dialog with the same line but the proper pc?
    I'd hate to use the last ressort method: changing all skill checks fro "pc" to "anyone".
     
  2. Ludget

    Ludget Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2015
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    1
    Looks like I found it! There are no map triggers, it's in san_heartbeat.
     
  3. Shiningted

    Shiningted I want my goat back Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2004
    Messages:
    11,993
    Likes Received:
    82
    Glad we could help.
     
    GuardianAngel82 likes this.
  4. Ludget

    Ludget Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2015
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    1
    Well, actually I found it out myself, but you're welcome anyway ;)

    Now someone please tell me where the fuck does temple+ hide my savefiles? They're not in the ToEE installation directory, not in AppData/blahblah/templeplus, and unless they are very well hidden they are not in /documents... either.
    God I hate these "modern" OSes that always try to hide important things from the users.
     
    Shiningted likes this.
  5. Sitra Achara

    Sitra Achara Senior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2003
    Messages:
    2,809
    Likes Received:
    115
    The savegame folder is the same as with normal toee.
     
  6. Shiningted

    Shiningted I want my goat back Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2004
    Messages:
    11,993
    Likes Received:
    82
    Can't tell you how much I agree with this!!!!
     
  7. Ludget

    Ludget Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2015
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    1
    Okay, and where does win 10 hide those?
     
  8. Sitra Achara

    Sitra Achara Senior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2003
    Messages:
    2,809
    Likes Received:
    115
    Should be in modules/toee/save
     
  9. Ludget

    Ludget Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2015
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    1
    Thanks. Never thought of looking into /modules.
     
  10. Sitra Achara

    Sitra Achara Senior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2003
    Messages:
    2,809
    Likes Received:
    115
    By the way, funny tidbit: the only reason it's there is because it's the last folder mounted by ToEE.
     
Our Host!