Newbie TOEE Modding questions.

Discussion in 'General Modification' started by MajorTomSawyer, Mar 17, 2016.

Remove all ads!
  1. MajorTomSawyer

MajorTomSawyer Archivist of Mods

So I had an idea to expand a few things in the game (including the brothel), and I wanted to ask about how hard it would be here first.

Working title of the mod: MTS' TOEE Crappack (after my BG2 modpack).

#1 Need to place a non-joinable NPC in Hommlet and/or Nulb to recruit the players on the path. She will ask the PCs to help save her village. They have been waylayed by orcs, and the men have all been killed, and they women are being held prisoners for nefarious reasons.

This would require a quest log entry, and a spot marked on the map.

My thought was using the burned out map area from the last area from the Welkwood Bog (Lame to steal another's area, but I am no artist, so I could not design a unique map on my own).

Now, I do not know how hard it is to add an area to the game map, so perhaps I could substitute a note that enables auto travel like with the final bit on the moathouse respawn? I am hoping for the former, as I would like players to have the option to return (more later).

#2 The players go fight a bunch or orcs, and in one of the buildings are the surviving women. The widow of the mayor thanks you (maybe a rep for this?), but asks for more help. The village is in ruins, and with the men dead their tribe of (working on a name) may be doomed.

So, the PCs can donate some money witch will help (what I would love is if you could donate more than once, and perhaps the village gets restored a little each time, maybe an inn, a couple of minor shops, and maybe even another home for the players. Ideally, each time you give her money, you get to select what will be rebuilt. I was thinking of maybe the cost could be cut by 75% or something, on the PCs staying to help with the construction (fade to back and maybe a week's time advance?).