need more tools?

Discussion in 'General Modification' started by zulo, Jun 25, 2004.

Remove all ads!
  1. zulo

zulo Member

hi
    i have played toee a bit and i love it, but im a programmer and
    i like to make things. So, do you need more tools?

maybe utilities to edit does text files describing weapons and things? or is that already available?

2. zhuge

zhuge Established Member Veteran

Thanks for the offer.

We unpack the dat files with Zane's ToEExtract: http://www.co8.org/files/tools/toeeextract.rar
    protos.tab and other .tab files are edited with Phalzyr's ToEE Proto Editor. I'm using v2.4.1 currently: http://www.kasec.org/toee/ProtoEd2-4-1.zip
    .mes and .txt files can be edited with Notepad.
    .py files are edited with Python software.
    .dlg files can be edited with Notepad or with an Arcanum dlgedit program

So generally there is not a pressing need for a text file editor at present. But if you want to make a more powerful one with added functions, I'm all for it.

Currently, I would like to see some work done on maps and how they are accessed.
    Is it possible to write a tool that enables modders to put interactable objects on a map. This would include NPCs, items, chests, barrels, info popups, etc...
    I suppose a few of these might be managed through Python scripting, but it would be better if these could be put straightaway on any given map.

Failing that, it would be nice to have some general guidelines and code for scripting on the above issues.

EDIT: Oh and welcome to the forums :)
    I forget my manners sometimes when I'm in a haste. ;)

P/S - we really need to have more new people posting, giving ideas and modding... i hate talking with myself... :p

Last edited: Jun 25, 2004
  3. zulo

zulo Member

texteditor

i was thinking a tool that opened the txt files and presented
    the items.

For example, if a .mes file describes weapons, a tool could open this text file almost like it was a database and present each