Can I switch to Co8 NC from Co8 without restarting?

Discussion in 'The Temple of Elemental Evil' started by caltino, Jul 9, 2012.

Remove all ads!
  1. caltino

caltino Member

First time ToEE player. I first installed the NC version of the game and when it didn't work (game ran for a milisecond then disappeared), I installed, and then tried the regular Co8 modpack. That worked so I started playing. After a while I realized that the non-start/crash of the game probably had nothing to do with the NC pack. Is it possible for me to install the NC pack now and play the game without starting from scratch?

I am almost level 3 and I have done most of Hommlet. I put in a lot of time, but not nearly as much as I will for the rest of the game. I would seriously rather not do the beginning again, but if the NC pack adds a lot of fun content, maybe it's worth it even if I have to restart.

What do you think?

Thanks

2. sirchet

sirchet Force for Goodness Moderator Supporter

NC and non NC save games are not compatible.

Sorry, you will need to start over.

Think of it as an excuse to come up with a different party idea, or something. ;)

3. Ausdoerrt

Ausdoerrt Veteran Member

As a heads up, NC standing for "new content" and all, you might find that there's a way to get up those 3 levels that makes for a completely different experience. Just ask Brother Smyth for "something different" ;)

4. caltino

caltino Member

is it possible to have two separate installs of the game? I'd like to install the NC mod version to another folder and see if it works and still keep the regular mod with my existing save games in the original folder. I am guessing this would work, but any thoughts?

5. gazra_1971

gazra_1971 Knights of Legend

The beauty of the ToEE Front-End X is that you can install as many modules for the computer game The Temple of Elemental Evil as you want.